Re: 1941 - 9N

[ Follow Ups ] [ Post Followup ] [ N Board Forum ] [ FAQ ]

Posted by Dave Smith on December 17, 2017 at 15:48:05 [URL] [DELETE] :

In Reply to: 1941 - 9N posted by D Baethge on December 16, 2017 at 16:11:45:

I am not very good at explaining things. So if you have any questions just ask.
I had problems with my 41 9N running hot with Pertronix Ignitor. I had the radiator cleaned and was sure the block was clean inside the cooling system. It still ran hot mowing lawn. I spent the money
for a new 4 row radiator and it still ran hot. Then a buddy of mine reminded me of the model T
Fords. They had a spark advance lever on the steeling column. You retarded the spark for starting
(especially with a crank) then after it was running you hand advanced the spark. If you forgot to advance the spark, it would run hot. So I added timing marks. Look in the how tos to see how I
did it with the head off. (Under Engine)First be sure the distributer is as it should be (bushings and fly weights)
I found that the instructions for the timing of the front mount disributer from Pertronix was way
slow. I had to really futs with it to get it right. After I got it set right, no more over heating problems
and it starts a lot faster, easyer and runs a lot better.

There is a way to add timing marks without removing the head using a VOM. A analog VOM works best. First remove all the spark plugs. Use a stiff piece of copper insulated wires with both ends striped back about a half inch. Connect the VOM to one lead and the other end to a GOOD ground. Be sure you are working on the number one piston coming up on power stroke with both valves closed . Insert the other bare end of the wire into number 1 piston hole.Slowly